Expectations on Wide Form data

I am just getting started with GE and was wondering if there are elegant ways of validating wide form data (20k columns) or should they be transformed to long-form? I want to avoid moving them to long-form as some properties are lost in long-form. The data frame has samples x gene measures.

1 Like

Thanks for posting the question here! I don’t think we have a go-to answer for this yet, but here are my thoughts. I would consider two things here: 1) ease of creating expectations and 2) performance when validating data 3) Limiting output to relevant data

For 1:
I’m assuming you have different types of data in each column, usually something like numeric types, strings, booleans, etc. The automated profiler that the great_expectations suite scaffold command uses should be able to provide reasonable expectations for any size data in theory, since I’m not sure how well it would handle such a large number of columns. Plus, it might not necessarily generate exactly the expectations you want. But if you haven’t tried using suite scaffold yet, I’d say give it a shot!

Another option is to generate expectations programmatically by looping over your columns and then creating a default type of expectations depending on either the data type and/or naming conventions for your column. Something like (forgive my hacky pseudo-code):

batch = ... # create a batch
for c in columns:
    if type(c) == integer:
        x = min(batch.c)
        y = max(batch.c)
        batch.expect_column_value_to_be_between(column=c, min_value=x, max_value=y)
   if(c.endswith("_flag"): # assume we have columns named "abc_flag" that are coded 1/0 or Y/N
       # create some expectations for a boolean flag, e.g. expect_column_values_to_be_in_set

etc.

This basically means that you need to have a good grasp of what expectations you’d want for what data type or naming convention. As a heads up, we’re working on making the profiler much better at doing these kinds of things!